The Afghan National Army is the land warfare branch of the Afghan Armed Forces. It is under the Ministry of Defense in Kabul and is largely trained by US-led NATO forces. The ANA is divided into seven corps, with the 201st in Kabul followed by the 203rd in Gardez, 205th in Kandahar, 207th in Herat, 209th in Mazar-i-Sharif, the 215th in Lashkar Gah, and the 217th in the north. The current Chief of General Staff of the ANA is Lieutenant General Yasin Zia.[5]

The Afghan National Army traces its roots to the early 18th century when the Hotak dynasty was established in Kandaharfollowed by Ahmad Shah Durrani‘s rise to power. It was reorganized in 1880 during Emir Abdur Rahman Khan‘s reign.[6]Afghanistan remained neutral during the First and Second World Wars. From the 1960s to the early 1990s, the Afghan Army was equipped by the Soviet Union.

By 2014, most of Afghanistan came under government control with NATO playing a supporting role.[7] The majority of training of the ANA is undertaken in the Afghan National Security University. In 2019, the ANA had approximately 180,000 soldiers out of an authorized strength of 195,000.[2]

Despite difficult weather conditions, troops from the 31st and 33rd Kandak, Afghan National Army, execute a departure for Operation Valley flood.